

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## BOB IGER, GERALDINE LAYBOURNE, SETH MACFARLANE, JAY SANDRICH AND CICELY TYSON TO BE INDUCTED INTO TELEVISION ACADEMY HALL OF FAME

Legends to Be Honored at 25<sup>th</sup> Hall of Fame Ceremony on Jan. 28

**(NoHo Arts District, Calif.** – Dec. 3, 2019) – The Television Academy's Hall of Fame Selection Committee today announced the induction of five television legends into the  $25^{th}$  Hall of Fame class.

The Hall of Fame honors those who have made outstanding contributions in the arts, sciences or management of television over a lifetime career or via singular achievements.

The ceremony and red carpet arrivals will take place on Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2020, at the Television Academy's Saban Media Center.

The complete list of honorees includes:

**Bob Iger** – Chairman and CEO, The Walt Disney Company

The steward of one of the world's largest media companies and some of the most respected and beloved brands around the globe, Bob Iger has built on Disney's rich history of storytelling and innovation since becoming CEO in 2005 by acquiring Pixar, Marvel, Lucasfilm and 21<sup>st</sup> Century Fox. Always one to embrace new technology, Iger has orchestrated an ambitious direct-to-consumer strategy that leverages Disney's unparalleled creative content across new platforms, including the new Disney+ streaming service, ESPN+, Hulu and Hotstar.

**Geraldine Laybourne** – As a groundbreaking female executive and entrepreneur, Laybourne led the team that created Nickelodeon and co-founded Oxygen Media.

**Seth MacFarlane** – The five-time Emmy<sup>®</sup>-winning performer has built an extensive career that includes accolades as a writer, director, producer, animator, actor, singer and comedian.

**Jay Sandrich** – The five-time Emmy winner directed classic, beloved comedy series including: *The Mary Tyler Moore Show, Soap, Benson, The Cosby Show, The Golden Girls* and more.

**Cicely Tyson** – Honored with three Emmys and multiple Emmy nominations, Tyson's acting career has spanned more than six decades.

"These contemporary performers, content creators and executives have been pioneers and innovators in so many aspects of television; and they have had a profound impact on their art and on our culture," said Frank Scherma, chairman and CEO of the Television Academy. "It's an honor to welcome this distinguished group of individuals into the Hall of Fame and to acknowledge their remarkable contributions, which continue to shape our industry."

The 2020 honorees join more than 146 individuals previously inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception in 1984. The coveted honor has been bestowed upon performers, directors, producers, costume designers, writers, animators, executives, news reporters and various other individuals whose work in television has no equal.

"These exceptional individuals have been major forces in television's evolution," said Rick Rosen, Hall of Fame Selection Committee chair. "It is our pleasure to honor them and celebrate their influence and impact on the growth of our industry across six decades of unprecedented change."

This year's committee includes Rick Rosen, head of television for William Morris Endeavor; Marcy Carsey, Emmy Award-winning producer; Bonnie Hammer, chairman, NBCUniversal Content Studios; Peter Roth, president, Warner Bros. Television; Fred Silverman, founder of The Fred Silverman Company and former executive at ABC, CBS and NBC; and Nina Tassler, partner PatMa Productions.

## About the Television Academy Hall of Fame

Founded by former Television Academy president John H. Mitchell, the Television Academy's Hall of Fame has honored on-camera legends and industry innovators. Past honorees include Lucille Ball, Johnny Carson, Walter Cronkite, Walt Disney, Bob Hope, Mary Tyler Moore, Barbara Walters, Dan Rather, Oprah Winfrey, Jacques-Yves Cousteau, Lorne Michaels, Ron Howard, Carl Reiner, Katie Couric, Shonda Rhimes, Bob Mackie, Mario Kreutzberger, Bob Barker, Bea Arthur, Regis Philbin, William Shatner, Bob Stewart, Candice Bergen and the original cast of *Saturday Night Live*.

# # #

**Contact:** Jim Yeager breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy) <u>jim@breakwhitelight.com</u> O: 424-644-0225 C: 818-264-6812